Core Faculty

African American Studies scholars are intellectuals who do more than just contribute to the discourse. They also have been shaping it while giving meaning to social justice in action. On the cutting edge issues from the Haiti earthquake, war on terrorism, and global economic crisis to the effects of racial profiling, unemployment, youth bullying via the Internet, and discussions of an Obama-era postracial America, our award-winning and prolific faculty have been there addressing pressing social and historical impacts on African American identities.

NameTitleEmail Address
Alkalimat, Abdul Professor Emeritusmcworter@illinois.edu
Bailey, RonaldProfessor, Department Headrwbailey@illinois.edu
Bowen, MerleAssociate Professorbowen@illinois.edu
Cha-Jua, SundiataAssociate Professorschajua@illinois.edu
Flynn, KarenAssistant Professorkcflynn@illinois.edu
Hunt, IrvinAssistant Professorijh@illinois.edu
Jarrett, RobinProfessorrjarrett@illinois.edu
Jenkins, CandiceAssociate Professorcmjenki@illinois.edu
McDuffie, ErikAssociate Professoremcduffi@illinois.edu
McKee, MalaikaVisiting Assistant Professormalaika@illinois.edu
Meghelli, SamirAssistant Professorsamirm@illinois.edu
Mendenhall, RubyAssistant Professorrubymen@illinois.edu
Neville, HelenProfessorhneville@illinois.edu
Smith, ShardeAssistant Professorsnsmith@illinois.edu
Weissinger, Thomas Associate Professortweissin@illinois.edu
Back to Top