Core Faculty

African American Studies scholars are intellectuals who do more than just contribute to the discourse. They also have been shaping it while giving meaning to social justice in action. On the cutting edge issues from the Haiti earthquake, war on terrorism, and global economic crisis to the effects of racial profiling, unemployment, youth bullying via the Internet, and discussions of an Obama-era postracial America, our award-winning and prolific faculty have been there addressing pressing social and historical impacts on African American identities.

NameTitleEmail Address
Akresh, Richardakresh@illinois.edu
Alkalimat, Abdul Professor Emeritusmcworter@illinois.edu
Bailey, RonaldProfessor, Department Headrwbailey@illinois.edu
Bowen, MerleAssociate Professorbowen@illinois.edu
Cha-Jua, SundiataAssociate Professorschajua@illinois.edu
Flynn, KarenAssistant Professorkcflynn@illinois.edu
Franklin, KevinAdjunct Associate Professorkdf@illinois.edu
Gathogo, Marygathogo@illinois.edu
Harrison, FayeProfessorfvharrsn@illinois.edu
Hunt, IrvinAssistant Professorijh@illinois.edu
Jarrett, RobinProfessorrjarrett@illinois.edu
Jenkins, CandiceAssociate Professorcmjenki@illinois.edu
Loewen, JamesAdjunct Professorjloewen@illinois.edu
Marinas, Benitomarinas@illinois.edu
McDuffie, ErikAssociate Professoremcduffi@illinois.edu
McKee, MalaikaVisiting Assistant Professormalaika@illinois.edu
Mendenhall, RubyAssociate Professorrubymen@illinois.edu
Meyers, JohnVisiting Assistant Professormeyersjp@illinois.edu
Michelson, Hopehopecm@illinois.edu
Miller, Danieldcmiller@illinois.edu
Neville, HelenProfessorhneville@illinois.edu
Nobili, Mauronobili@illinois.edu
Oberdeck, Kathrynkjo@illinois.edu
Patterson, WilliamAdjunct Assistant Professorwmpatter@illinois.edu
Reynolds, Felisafelisavr@illinois.edu
Ribot, Jesseribot@illinois.edu
Ruggles, Fairchilddfr1@illinois.edu
Smith, Samuelsmsmith3@illinois.edu
Smith, ShardeAssistant Professorsnsmith@illinois.edu
Weissinger, Thomas Professortweissin@illinois.edu
Back to Top